Thread: Pass to self
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 28, 2009, 11:48am
dbking dbking is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kansas
Posts: 155
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4.15.4 SITUATION C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.
In each of these cases, he dribbles again making it an illegal dribble. The opponents backboard is defined in rule 4-4 as part of the floor therefore making it part of the definition of a dribble. There is no rule that prevents him from picking up a loose ball. The restrictions placed on the person make the play illegal and have absolutely nothing to do with the original post.
Reply With Quote