View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 04:14pm
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
Good one. Another is 4.19.8 SITUATION D:
A1 has possession of the ball and is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation when A4 and B4 are whistled for a double foul. RULING: A4 and B4 are charged with personal fouls and play shall resume from the point of interruption. A1 receives the ball to attempt the one-and- one free throw with the lane spaces properly occupied. (4-36-2b; 7-5-3b)

This proves we can have a POI where the ball stays with the original team without team control. And that is where some of our pool is having trouble. They seem to think that because there is no team control during a throw-in, possession must go to the arrow on a double foul. However, they say that it would stay with the original team for an inadvertent whistle or on a free-throw, because it’s just common sense.
There is no team control when a thrower has the ball in his possession before attempting a free throw?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote