Thread: Ball lodged.
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2009, 06:17am
justacoach justacoach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Definitive answer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
I missed one question on the test that I can't find the ruling for in the rulebook or the casebook.

It is an alternating possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges between the backboard and the ring.

I said "True" since it is a live ball being lodged. But then I realized after my test was graded that the throw-in hadn't been completed either.

So I'm thinking, in the unlikely event this should happen, team A gets the ball for throw-in again since they hadn't violated?

Rita
FALSE is the only logical conclusion even if you over complicate the original test question

My son missed this question and the NFHS test results page responded with the following rules references:
9-2-8 already posted here and which tells us this is a violation, ball goes to B for throw-in
AND, a more salient passage in
6-4-3, as follows:

Rule 6-4 2009-10 NFHS Basketball Rules Page 46
SECTION 4 ALTERNATING POSSESSION

ART. 3 . . . Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds
spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in
shall result when:

d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the
flange, UNLESS a free throw or throw-in follows.

In the original situation, there will be a throw-in following (by B) therefore the AP provision is NOT INVOKED and there is no change to the AP arrow
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote