Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL
So is a T for slapping the backboard and yet the rule is there. I'm sure they will not change the rule for a few of us, but can you admitt the effect is the same for contacting the basket or net and contacting the backboard which moves the the rim or net. Just seems like the same outcome by different means which are treated different. What a crybaby, I know 
|
Don't take this personally, I argue with everyone.
I think part of the difference is the logistics of adding this to the rule. The rule is there more for the unsportsmanlike intent than for the result with regard to the shot. It's more like the rule about removing the jerseys.
Another reason for the exclusion is, again, the percentage of slaps that affect the shot is so low.