Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
I agree by rule hitting the backboard is not basket interference, but logically it is. If a player hits the backboard and that prevents the ball from going in, what else is but basket interference? However, until they change the rules, I wont call it. I just don't agree with the rule committee's logic on this one.
|
If the player intentionally strikes the backboard to ensure that the ball will not go into the basket - it is not basket interference - it is a technical foul. However, you must deem the act intentional - not accidental.