Thread: Traveling?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 08:38pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I checked before posting

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
I don't have my rule book with me, but I seem to recall wording to the effect that one of the the feet is assumed to be the pivot foot. They traveled in the OP because they picked up their pivot foot before starting a dribble.
I didn't quote it, but I checked it before I posted. Here's the relevant portions of the rule:

Quote:
4-44-3 After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be....
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned....
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
The rule itself says nothing about a player who can establish a pivot foot but jumps instead. The case play seems based more on the intent and spirit of the traveling rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote