View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2000, 01:30pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,175
Re: case when control is established

Quote:
Originally posted by David Clausi
Generally speaking, this play is not a double dribble. However, a player may be closely guarded and may end up deflecting the ball in such a manner to keep the ball away from a defender. That would then constitute a dribble since control is definitely established. Not to consider it a dribble would constitute taking away a good defensive play.

David
except, David, that "A player is not dribbling ... when he/she bats ... a pass away from other players who are attempting to get it." (Fed 4-15-4, Note 2) NCAA has a similar rule.
Reply With Quote