Thread: Shooting Motion
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 01:03am
Fathertime Fathertime is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 15
Shooting Motion

A player makes a drive to the basket. He is in the middle of his jump stop and is airborne when he is fouled after he grabs the basketball with two hands, but before his two feet land on the ground at the same time. He then goes up for the shot. Is this considered his shooting motion and a two shot foul?

The rule book says that when he grabs the ball with two hands, his dribble has ended, but he could easily pass, or just land and not go up for the shot. Also, when do you think the shooting motion starts during a regular layup? I am interested in your opinions.
Reply With Quote