Thread: Throw-in
View Single Post
  #61 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2009, 07:01pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Can't do that. There's a specific case play that if contact is made, you can't give a warning by blowing the whistle early.
I don't think it says exactly says that. What it does say is tha if the player reaches across and touches the ball. The referee can't blow the whistle and choose to only penalize the first act by declaring that the ball was dead at the time the player crossed the line...the ball was still live (by interpreation)....they must penalize the entire thing as one action. The ref can't intercept the swat just in time to avoid the T.

However, if the action of crossing and touching are so widely seperated in time that the official clearly blows the whistle before the ball is touched (likely in a second motion or recoil), the player has only touched a dead ball. Case doesn't apply....it is not the same action.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote