View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 05:12pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF View Post
I don't understand the rational behind the first Case book situation. (Pretty sure it is the first)

Basically it goes like this, A1 is fouled, Is awarded a 1-1 but should have had a 2 shot foul, Misses the first shot and the ball is rebounded by B then passed to the division line to B2. Then the error is discovered.
Ruling is to go back and shoot the free throw with players on the line because there was no change in possession. Doesn't B get penalized in this case. What if the shot is missed and rebounded by A? To me it should be A has 1 free throw with laned cleared then B's ball at the division line.

What say you?
That ruling was changed last year, and we discussed it then. Most thought it was a mistake (that is, they agree with you and the "old" ruling that A shoots the remaining throw with no one on the line and B gets the ball at the POI).

The NCAA ruling seems to be the same as the old FED ruling (see AR 20)
Reply With Quote