View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 09:50am
bbcof83 bbcof83 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo View Post
Its spelled out in the rule book. 5-2-5 "When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and three-tenths (.3) of a second or less remains on the clock, a player may not gain control of the ball and try for a field goal. In this situation only a tap could score. Note: this rule does not apply if the clock does not display tenths of a second."

You can also check out specific plays in the case book. 5.2.3 situations A,B,& C.
Thanks ranjo, I had this little birdy in my ear telling me "less than .4 needs to be a tip" but couldn't remember if it was an actual rule or just a guideline. Appreciate the citations.
Reply With Quote