A New Light.
There was a game the other night in which a Celtic was called for a travel at the same time a foul was called on the player guarding him. the officials conferenced and I don't know if they looked at the tape, but the ruling was that the foul came first -- I reran the play over and over and was convinced that the travel happened first, therefore dead ball and no foul. Now, however, I see the rule change and it's clear that the two-step traveling rule led to the decision that he hadn't "completed" the travel before being fouled.
The announcers, who should have updated themselves on any and all rules or interpretations changes before sitting behind a microphone for a regular season game, were clueless.
The question, though, is does legalizing the two-step mean they can get away with three?
|