Thread: McCarver
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 21, 2009, 07:56am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ump153 View Post
Get the FED rule out of your head, then read the pro rule again.

6.10 (b) The Designated Hitter may be used defensively, continuing to bat in the same position in the batting order, but the pitcher must then bat in the place of the substituted defensive player, unless more than one substitution is made, and the manager then must designate their spots in the batting order.
You are, I think, missing Ump25's point.

He's repeating what McCarver said ("the pitcher must bat in the DH's spot") and sarcasticly asking, "Is this a rules change?" to make the point that McCarver messed it up.

I'll only add that the volume level on my TV, at least, goes down as well as up.

Of course, I've been home and awake only enough to see about 4 innings total of the playoffs.
Reply With Quote