Quote:
Originally posted by HighSchoolWhiteHat
NVFOA15
My way of seeing this is since both can be called for PI, but the receiver is making an attempt to get to the ball, we have DPI.
I just can't see where we have a no call in NFHS rules when theres contact with the ball in flight.
Just my way of looking at this play I guess.
|
WhiteHat, I keep saying this and I keep getting slammed by every official in here for it but I'll say it again. The rule book doesn't cover every thing you may encounter in a game nor does it teach you how to be a good official. Some plays you will have to combine knowledge of the rules, fair play, and good judgement. Every thing is not always black or white. Sure, theres contact but who do you call it on? The receiver? He's trying to get to an uncatchable ball (sure its catchable if the defender kindly moves out of his way so he can catch the ball). The defender? he's just defending the receiver but he's not guilty of holding, bumping, or initiating any type of contact--the receiver did! It is also my understanding of this rule (and someone please check the rule book as I'm sure you will) that neither A or B may go through the other in an attempt to receive a pass. The ONLY reason I didn't say offensive pass interference is because B wasn't playing the pass. The best call, in my opinion, is INCOMPLETE!