RoyalsCoach, the Toolman gave you the straight skinny.  Contacting the ball with any body part (including the feet) IS legal except on a serve.  Then Rule 8-1-1 takes precedence...one hand, fist, or arm is the legal serving contact.  So, possibly the coach didn't know the rules well enough to know the difference.  A little knowledge can be a dangerous thing!
 
The cards could also have been given for yelling across the court.  As an R1, I will talk with the floor captain, but I "ain't" gonna carry on a conversation with anyone across more than 30 feet (10 meters).
