Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
BillyMac: Your posts are so insightful. And I can tell from your writing style that you're probably a pretty handsome guy. You bring up an important point. As pointed out by mbyron, in discussing poorly worded rules and test questions, we'll get to know the rules pretty well. May we discuss this further? Like BillyMac, I also believe that the answer should be false.
|
Billy, it's just that all of us average people tend to ignore all the good-looking, intellegent ones.
If you look at the complete reading of 1-2-2, it says, "...This restraining line becomes the boundary line
during a throw-in on that side or end, as in 7-6. It continues to be the boundary
until the ball crosses the line." So, whether there's an actual, painted line on the court, or the official determines the imaginary line, it is only in effect during a throw-in, and ceases to exist once the ball crosses the line on the throw-in. It is only in effect for that side or end of the court, so any restraining lines on the sides are not in effect for a throw-in along the endline. Also, the restraining line extends the entire length of that particular sideline or endline, so all throw-in restrictions of players on the court are included. In your example of a player already in bounds, dribbling across that line, there really is no line there, according to the rules.
I believe the use of the word "may" in question 9 is because it is still the official's judgement as to whether to impose the restraining line during the throw-in.