View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 03, 2009, 11:15am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Michael & Bob,

The following definition of "a play", which is defined nowhere in the text of the rules, appears in the MLBUM:



While I would agree that a "...runner in a rundown..." who is obstructed is properly ruled "Type A" and that the runner was being "played upon" just prior to the obstruction occurring, at the time of the obstruction, he was NOT being played upon.

No member of the defense had possession of the ball and no throw was in progress. The ball was "loose".

JM
Wow! That's a really BIG stretch.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote