Quote:
Originally Posted by CCassistcoach
Thanks everyone for the info. This call was made on our lead-off batter twice in as many at-bats. We are a girls fastpitch 10U team playing in the fall to prepare our girls for next Spring/Summer and these are the types of things we are working on. Our lead-off has not been "slapping" long and couldn't understand her mistake. It was very "picky" at the time in my opinion. Her foot was in front of the plate, but had there been visible lines, it could have been argued that her heel was still touching the line.
|
The argument could also be made that her heel did not touch the line until after contact was made.

Quote:
Either way, stay in the box and there is no argument.
|
Coach,
I understand you are working with very young girls, probably with limited experience. Whether it was "picky" or not, only you can offer an opinion as none of us were there (at least, I don't think).
F.Y.I., don't think you want to debate the "lines" issue. The batter's box is there whether lined or not. Many of us get that argument regularly as if the batter is going to stop in the middle of their swing, look down to make sure they step in the right place and then continue their swing. This is a rule umpires usually don't make unless there is absolutely no doubt there was a violation.
Good luck in the spring.