Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
The exception does not end when TC is established, it actually ends when the throw-in ends. 4-42-5 tells us the throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by another player. It has nothing to do with control. The exception allows the first player to touch the ball to go from the FC to BC, but no one else.
|
That is certainly what the rule is....
Are you talking about the current rule or the idea of what it could be?
I not sure which discussion/debate or which side of it you're participating in at the moment (given what you type next).
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
So, considered this: A1 has the TI, A2 catches the pass while jumping from the FC to the BC, and lands in the BC. No violation because of the throw-in exception. Same play, except B1 is guarding the throw-in, and tips the throw-in pass before A2 catches it in the air and lands in the BC. Now we have a violation, because the TI ended on B1's tip, so A2 is guilty of the violation because they were not the first to touch when the TI ended. Doesn't seem "fair", but the ruling completely follows all of the applicable principles of the throw-in, player control, team control, and backcourt violation.
The change we would like to see would eliminate this quirky play as well.
|
That was the whole point of the idea I made in post #6
Maybe we could just make up our minds only argue our own points and not each others? It would keep me from getting so confused!

As it is, I can't decide if I agree with you and disagree with me or if I disagree with you and agree with me or me or me.