Thread: Backcourt?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 01:40pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
I like all the reasoning/discussion. If A2 has the ball in mid air from catching a throw in, he has team control but is allowed per rule to make a normal landing w/o violation. Why shouldn't he be able to make a pass w/o violating?

Even though the throw in exception by rule has ended with team control established, it really still exists until the landing.
The exception does not end when TC is established, it actually ends when the throw-in ends. 4-42-5 tells us the throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by another player. It has nothing to do with control. The exception allows the first player to touch the ball to go from the FC to BC, but no one else.

So, considered this: A1 has the TI, A2 catches the pass while jumping from the FC to the BC, and lands in the BC. No violation because of the throw-in exception. Same play, except B1 is guarding the throw-in, and tips the throw-in pass before A2 catches it in the air and lands in the BC. Now we have a violation, because the TI ended on B1's tip, so A2 is guilty of the violation because they were not the first to touch when the TI ended. Doesn't seem "fair", but the ruling completely follows all of the applicable principles of the throw-in, player control, team control, and backcourt violation.

The change we would like to see would eliminate this quirky play as well.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote