View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 15, 2009, 04:49pm
NorCalRef12 NorCalRef12 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
K kicks the ball. R1 is in position to catch the ball... the ball bounces and touches him at about his 7-yard line. I bag the spot where he touched the ball. The ball then continues to roll and breaks the goal line. I kill it for a touchback.

I thought I got this correct but now I'm doubting myself.

1) I bagged the spot where R touched the ball to show I saw the touch and that K could recover. Was this correct?

2) Did I properly rule on the touchback?

Thanks.
1.
No reason for the bag. You only need to bag where the kick ends or if K touches the ball while it is in motion. The spot where R muffs the ball has no bearing.

2.
Yes, the loose ball was still a kick that crossed R's goal line, that results in a touchback.
Reply With Quote