Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
He catches the ball, lands with both feet, falls to the ground, controls ball, drops ball, picks up ball and stands up.
What if he catches the ball, lands with both feet, falls to the ground, controls ball, drops ball, stands up and walks away?
Is the call still incomplete? Does the appearnce that he caught the ball and is now intentionally releasing it becuase the play is over get him the catch?
|
Had a hard time following all that.
The NFL rule used to be this (and I think it still is)
If a receiver catches the ball in an endzone or along a sideline and he is going down to the ground during the catch, he must show clear possession of the ball all the way through completing contact with the ground. In the play in question, the ball moved in his arms when he hit the ground and was thus rules incomplete.