Mbyron, not sure how to use the quote box yet but you wrote this:
"This play could be a HCT. What we need to know is whether B1 pulled A1 down backwards. The requirements for calling a horse collar tackle are: (a) B grasps the back or side collar of A's jersey or shoulder pads, and (b) subsequently brings A [backwards] to the ground."
Where did you get "backwards" from? Is that an assumption or a rule I missed?
Reason I ask: first game of season as R, I was following QB on a sweep. he was HC and pulled down to the side (actually more dangerous to the knees than backwards.) I didn't throw the flag because in our meeting that week one of our board members was adamant that a "backward" pull down (not a side) only would contstitue a HC.
In hindsight I should have flagged what was a violation IMO of the spirit of the HC rule. I'm glad the player was not hurt...
9-4-3k doesn't qualify the HC with a "backwards"...
thanks
Last edited by whitehat; Thu Sep 10, 2009 at 03:20pm.
|