
Thu Sep 10, 2009, 08:41am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardHat Ref
In Illinois the IHSA has clarified this rule on it's website.
8/12 Clarification on new rule 8-2-4
Boys Football
There has been some confusion with the penalty enforcement for new rule 8-2-4 when it relates to an unsportsmanlike act committed by the offense during a scoring play.
We basically have two situations; (a) if the offense commits an unsportsmanlike act prior to the ball crossing the goal line, like taunting on the 3 yd line; (b) committing an excessive celebration act after the ball crosses the goal line. In (a), rule 8-2-4 would not be able to be applied since the act occurred prior to crossing the goal line and the penalty would be assessed on the try. In (b), the act occurred after the ball crossed the goal line and rule 8-2-4 would be able to be applied and there would be a choice for the spot of enforcement of either the try or the subsequent kickoff.
|
Keep an eye out for a possible change to this interpretation.
__________________
Mike Sears
|