View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 09, 2009, 02:16pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Has it always been the case? For the past twenty-eight years, if a player in a marked lane space lost his balance and did a "pushup" in the lane, without either of his feet crossing the lane line plane, I would have called the violation, but I'm not sure that previous rule wording would have backed me up on my call, not that anyone would have complained.
Yes, it has always been the case. The player may not "leave" the space. Other rules support the notion that if a player istouching in the lane, they are in the lane....which means they've left the space. It wasn't so black and white, but it was there.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote