Quote:
Originally Posted by kheisner
Help.....talking with a couple of fellow umpires tonight discussing some seldom used rules. I commented on the fact that if a runner standing on a base in fair territory and if he is hit by a batted ball (before it passes a fielder) that runner is out. They both disagreed with me and one said that is an OBR rule but not a Fed rule. Am I wrong???
They both have a lot more experience than me. I thought this was a rule in all aspects of baseball/softball.
|
No, you are not wrong. What we may have here is the fallacy of "experience." These guys sound like umpires with one year's experience, ten times, rather than ten years of experience.