View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 09:00pm
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by kheisner View Post
Help.....talking with a couple of fellow umpires tonight discussing some seldom used rules. I commented on the fact that if a runner standing on a base in fair territory and if he is hit by a batted ball (before it passes a fielder) that runner is out. They both disagreed with me and one said that is an OBR rule but not a Fed rule. Am I wrong???

They both have a lot more experience than me. I thought this was a rule in all aspects of baseball/softball.
You are correct. The "experienced" umpires are wrong.

Rule 8-4-2-k EXCEPTION only protects a runner touching his base when he is hit by an infield fly.

Otherwise, he is out if he is contacted by a fair batted ball before it touches an infielder, or after it passes any fielder, except the pitcher , and the umpire is convinced that another fielder has a play.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote