View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 29, 2009, 11:43pm
TussAgee11 TussAgee11 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty View Post

Why, according to Official Baseball Rules, would an umpire call a balk on this play?
8.05a. I don't really care, but you asked. He's still a runner until he has scored, and he hasn't scored until the play is completed, as mentioned above. So he has violated 8.05a.

As soon as he fails to pitch, "TIME". Score the runner. Scored on the balk, officially speaking.

Last edited by TussAgee11; Sat Aug 29, 2009 at 11:49pm.
Reply With Quote