Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty
And you're kidding about the play too, right? The umpire should still call time and enforce the balk? Yeah? The guy stole home and nothing else happened. How can a balk be called, scored or whatever you do or say? We're talking about this one play with one runner on third who stole home before anything could happen or be called. It's about this one play and not a bunch of convoluted scenarios.
|
I didn't realize nick was baseball slang. It is not listed in this baseball slang dictionary
Baseball Slang Dictionary From I-O: More Baseball Slang Terms From 'In the Hole' to 'Outpitch' | Suite101.com
Just because R3 touches the plate before the pitch is released does not mean he has stolen the base. If the pitch is batted foul it is not a stolen base. If the pitch is strike 3 with 2 outs then it is not a stolen base.
A balk is somewhat different as you could have a balk and a stolen base on the same play. But yes, the umpire should call time and enforce the balk. R3 is sliding in as F1 stops his motion. The guy did not steal third base before anything else happened as you claimed. He was on third base at the time of the pitch. You seed to be thinking that noting happened before he stole the base. But that is not what happened; the pitcher started his motion.