Thread: Kick play
View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 12:41pm
Mike L Mike L is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
It depends on what you mean by "makes the touch go away." As a spot for the next play and an option for R, it does go away, that's true.

But it does not go away for determining who will next put the ball in play. Hence the comment already quoted from Reddings: "Redding's Guide to NFHS Football by George Demetriou on pg 59: 'Team K may not keep possession, even if it recovers a muff or a fumble, as this is the price for having touched the ball too soon.'"

A post-possession foul by R means that they do not have the option of taking the ball at the spot of first touching. But first touching will still prevent K from getting possession during the down.

And that means that a pre-possession foul during this play is PSK.
But that interp says NOTHING about an accepted foul that both the rules and the fundamentals say makes the touch go away! K will be next to put the ball in play because they've recovered the fumble. You can't say they won't because of the touch and then make the touch go away because of the foul. That is a completely illogical way to order how you are going to resolve the situation.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem

Last edited by Mike L; Thu Aug 27, 2009 at 12:55pm.
Reply With Quote