Thread: Kick play
View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 26, 2009, 02:02pm
Mike L Mike L is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I don't think that's correct. Here's the relevant sentence:
"The right of R to take the ball at spot of first
touching by K is canceled if R touches the kick and thereafter during the down
commits a foul or if the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down."
What exactly is canceled: the right of R to the ball, or the right of R to take the ball at the spot of first touching? I would argue that it's the latter: a PSK penalty will be marched off from the spot of first touching, and R keeps the ball.
Why would a PSK foul be marched off from the spot of first touching? That is not necessarily either the spot of the foul or the end of the kick. And does this interp also mean a foul by K will be enforced from the first touch spot as well? I'm confused.

Here's the way I read the rule:
The right of R to take the ball at spot of 1st touch is cancelled if:
1) R touches the kick and thereafter during the down commits a foul or
2) the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem

Last edited by Mike L; Wed Aug 26, 2009 at 02:54pm.
Reply With Quote