View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 06:39am
ozzy6900 ozzy6900 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
We're playing in a youth league that uses NFHS rules (I've ordered my rulebook but it's not yet arrived). We're at our first practice today and I'm going over with the baserunners what a pitcher can and cannot do, more specifically what they should be looking for. Here are my questions:
  • Are there any differences in balk rules for NFHS vs. OBR vs. NCAA (In reading prior posts it doesn't appear there are but would appreciate confirmation of that). Specifically then:
  • R1, no outs, RHP engaged with the plate and in the set position. For purposes of argument he steps directly to 1st (don't want to get into how high he lifts his leg, whether it goes behind the plate, or discussions about 45 degrees - just steps directly to 1st) without disengaging from the plate and throws the ball to 1st (i.e., doesn't feint). Is that a balk? I don't think it is. My fellow coach said it is because he didn't disengage with his pivot foot backwards off the plate first.
I know this topic has been covered a lot and I appreciate your responses and NFHS rules reference (especially if I'm correct but even more so if I'm not and need to learn the rules better).
One of the differences between OBR & FED is if F1 is in the wind up position:
  • in OBR he may deliver a pitch, pick off a runner or step off.
  • In FED he may only deliver a pitch or step off. He may not pick off a runner from the wind up position.
As far as your situation goes, it is legal in FED the way you described it. F1 does not have to step off but he must complete the throw if he is going to 1st base.

One very important thing in FED ball (real FED ball) is that the pitching restrictions on F1 begin as soon as F1 makes contact with the rubber. For example, in FED, if F1 goes to his mouth with his pitching hand, he must wipe his hand before he touches the ball. If F1 is in contact with the rubber and goes to his mouth, that is a balk with runners on.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote