View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 18, 2009, 02:50pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I like the NCAA/OBR rule a lot better in this situation.

In FED, what if it's not the BR that does the passing? What if R1 passes R2? If there is a R3, does he score in that situation also? I'm thinking not if there are two outs since it's a force?
Yes -- all runners "ahead of" the runner who is the third out score. So, in your example, R2 and R3 score. R1 doesn't score because he made the third out, and BR doesn't score because he was "behind" the runner who made the thrid out.

I think this was an "unannounced" change about 3 years ago.

It's not a force -- the "passing" has to happen after the passing runner has advanced a base.
Reply With Quote