Thread: Rule 6.05 (k)
View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 17, 2009, 02:11pm
Paul L Paul L is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 173
Scoring the run is an exception to an exception

Ah, there it is, in the rule 2 definition of interference:

"(a) Offensive interference is . . .. If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules.
Rule 2.00 (Interference) Comment: In the event the batter-runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch." (Emphasis added.)

So the default rule is runners return to TOI base, except if BR has not reached first, then it's TOP base, except if a runner scores on an intervening play, then the run counts per MLBUM.

So in my example play, the run and the force out count (yes?), BR is out on running-lane interference, but R1 returns to first no matter where he was at TOI.
Reply With Quote