View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 16, 2009, 09:30pm
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansen View Post
B1 has grasped the inside back of runner A1's collar (horse collar) A1 pulls B1 across the plane of the goal line for a TD and then is horse collared by B1 in the same motion.


B1 has grasped the inside back of runner A1's collar (horse collar) in the field of play and is attempting to make the horse collar tackle. At the same time B2 and B3 tackle runner A1 from the front of A1 and make the tackle of A1 in the direction of B1's pull. I would be hard pressed to call this a horse collar although it meets the requirements.
Play 1 is definitely not a horse collar as per interpretation A1 is no longer a player in possession per Situation 1 NFHS 2009 Football Rules Interpretations.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote