View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 12, 2009, 12:38am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP21 View Post
Old question but need some clarification.

Offensive player (A1) pump fakes defender (B1) into the air. A couple of scenarios.
1. A1 initiates contact on his shot by jumping into B1, who has gone straight up with his arms? Contact is enough to have to make a call.
2. A1 pump fakes defender into the air and tries to draw the foul by maintianing his pivot foot , and steps into B1.

Easy call if B1 hammers A1, but the question is more towards B1 going up straight and not initiating contact with A1. Is there a level of initiating too much contact from A1 not to get the call or get a foul called on A1.

Not knowing the answer here, provide me with the "rights" of the defender even though he is out of position, where B1 may not be called for the foul, and where A1 could be called for the foul for initiating contact even though A1 got B1 out of position.....thanks...JP

The rule book (NCAA) referenced defender is not in the guarded position unless he in on the ground?
How is defender out of position? He jumped in the air, vertically, which he has every right to do.

Your final sentence is incorrect. Initiating guarding position must be done on the floor, but a player may jump and not lose it.

When you say, "Contact is enough to have to make a call," what do you mean? Do you mean the offensive player wasn't able to complete his shot? So what? He is responsible for the contact, by rule, in your scenario. Don't penalize the defense for doing what he is allowed to do.

If the coach questions you and you feel so inclined, you can easily say, "Coach, defense was in position and your guy initiated the contact."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote