The momentum rule doesn't cause the ball to become dead in the endzone. The momentum rule applies only IF the ball becomes dead in the endzone. For example, during a scrimmage kick, R22 catches the kick at the 4 and his momentum carries him into the endzone. Once in the endzone, he slips and falls with the ball in possession, which makes the ball dead in his possession in the endzone. At this point, you would have a touchback (instead of a safety).
8-5-2 is your reference.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
|