Appeal situation
FED rules.
Bases loaded, 1 out.
Ball is hit to deep center. F8 makes the catch and R3 and R2 advance. R1 returns to first, so we are going to have R1 and R3 with 2 out.
Everyone in the park knows F3 left early before he scored. The defensive coach obviously doesn't know FED appeal rules (dead ball appeal) because he instructs F1 to engage the pitcher's plate so they can make the ball live. As he does, R1 sprints off and gets into a rundown between first and second. He is tagged out and the "new" R3 doesn't score.
At this point, since the defense doesn't lose the right to appeal from the offense initiating a play, can't the defense still appeal the runner leaving early from the sacrifice fly to F8? Would this be a fourth out appeal? This didn't happen in any of my games, but it was brought up to me by someone.
|