Thread: Nfhs 8-2-4
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 04, 2009, 07:31am
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
Yes, gives the scoring team the option of enforcement when B fouls. Not when A fouls, which is what happened in the OP.

10-5-1f does you no good, it simply states there are now special enforcement options for the offended team and you have to refer to 8-2-2, 8-2-3, & 8-2-4 to find out what those are. 2 & 3 refer to fouls by the team being scored upon. So they are out. 4 refers to a foul committed between the score and the next RFP. So, an USC foul committed by A during the run in is still in that never-never land of last year and has to be enforced on the try.

You can try to argue "spirit and intent" all you want, but when the rule in plain English states something completely different than that "spirit and intent", you are now treading on some pretty dangerous ground.
Let me amend my last post. First, the unsportsmanlike was committed by the scoring team and 8-2-4 does say "...after a touchdown scoring play..." However, if you read "Comments on the 2009 Revisions" in the Case Book it plainly states "...fouls that occur during or after a touchdown scoring play" and it goes on to say the options "in most situations" are for the scoring team.

This is something that should be channeled through your interpreter.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote