I agree with Walt!
But wait, wasn't Walt agreeing with me?
Brandon, I am not talking about a judgment call, I am talking about a rule error made by a crew mate. I hope you are not suggesting we should not have picked up the flag when I had a real-life rookie line judge had a flag down for an ineligible reciever downfield on a punt. When he reported to me that he had an ineligible downfield on a punt, we had a breif discussion on the field and the flag was waved off. It wasn't changed in an attempt to bury an blatant ruling error, it was picked up because it was a ruling error from the Line Judge plain and simple. I believe my actions fits your description of a white hat overruling another official.
Brandon, I have been officiating for 31 years and that play and the one where the reciever caught the ball, landed on his back, got up, and ran into the endzone and the covering official signalled touchdown (because he wasn't down by contact) are the only two plays that come to mind. By the way, I "Overruled" the second play also, and you would not have wanted to be in that locker room.
It would be a rare occurance to even discuss a judgment call on the field. (We sure do behind closed doors though)
Again Brandon, you wrote a Black and White question and I am giving you an two examples of why your question could be answered with a "Yes"
And walt hit the nail on the head. While hypothetically, we all would like to answer your question with a Yes, its not 100% yes question...