[QUOTE=michrefdh;618254][QUOTE=KWH;618235]michrefdh-
Perhaps this will help.
In your original study group play, yes,
B intercepted the ball in B's endzone, however, the ball did not become dead there, and, because it did not become dead there,
8-5-3d is NOT the applicable rule.
So then, suppose in the situation originally posted, the kid threw the ball up in the air, yes it still went forward, but still landed in the endzone or out of bounds behind the goal line, and therfore is dead in the endzone. Does that affect the ruling at all?
While I fully understand where you ae going, the offense STILL committed a foul, and therefore 8-5-3d is NOT applicable, 8-5-2c and 10-5-4 are the applicable rulings. - Safety
And another situation, B1 intercepts in the endzone, B2 commits a clip in the endzone, but then B1 either downs it in the endzone, or is tackled in the endzone, therefore the ball is dead in the endzone. Does that change anything vs the original situation?
No. The offense still committed a foul in their own end zone, 8-5-3d is not applicable, 8-5-2c and 10-5-4 are the applicable rulings. - Safety
Again, I in these situations, I still see a conflict in rule 8-5 art 3-d "It is a touchback when...d. A forward pass is intercepted in B's endzone and becomes dead there in B's possession."
I understand your point.
Perhaps 8-5-3d could have some additional wording added to the end such as: l...unless 10-5-4 is applicable
P.S. I'm just trying to understand the situation and the application of the rules, and not just endlessly debate.
I fully understand.
However, sometimes in NFHS logic one rule trumps another rule.
For an example, read rule 8-2-1a, b, and c. All of these are examples of how to score a touchdown. However, we all know that if the scoring team fouled prior to scoring they don't get to keep the points even though it does not say that anywhere in Rule 8-2-1.
I hope this makes some sense.