Thread: Abandonment???
View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 09:30pm
SAump SAump is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577

A runner is allowed to overrun 1B 1-way. If he returns to the HP side of 1B, he subject to being tagged out. Ball is live. Abandonment applies when he leaves the baseline {his basepath}, so the call may be delayed until he progresses a reasonable distance away from 1B and does not make an effort to return to base immediately, moving towards a defensive position or the dugout.

When in doubt, always call em out!

Last edited by SAump; Wed Jul 29, 2009 at 09:44pm.
Reply With Quote