Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
That is not true Tony. Under NFHS Football Rules, there are many situations that it is illegal to touch a ball or to participate if you touch the ball or if you make a tackle. It all depends on who does it and why they do it. It might not be an out of bounds violation (lack of a better term for this discussion), but it can be penalized on many levels. The question comes from football logic, but unfortunately football logic does not translate to basketball logic in this case. There is not the same distinction for player location in football as it is for basketball. Completely different issues.
|
Yes, Jeffrey, it is true. We are not discussing many situations. We are discussing a situation where a player goes OOB and is the first to touch it when he returns inbounds. That is the ONLY situation that we are talking about in this thread. We are not talking about illegal participation, or illegal touching. We're simply talking about whether a player can be the first to touch the ball when he re-enters the field of play.
But since you're so knowledgable, why don't you share with the board all the times it is illegal for a football player to touch the ball? We're anxiously waiting!