Thread: Abandonment???
View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 11:12am
UmpTTS43 UmpTTS43 is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
A runner not "immediately" returning to 1st after attaining 1st is an appealable play (7.10c). If the BR is obviously heading toward his dugout, I will recognize the tag and bang him out. Similar situation where BR passes 1st and stops to remove all of his batting gear. If he or the base is tagged, he is out on appeal.

7.08j Any runner is out when ..... He fails to return at once to first base after overrunning or oversliding that base. If he attempts to run to second he is out when tagged. If, after overrunning or oversliding first base he starts toward the dugout, or toward his position, and fails to return to first base at once, he is out, on appeal, when he or the base is tagged;

7.08a2 PLAY. Runner believing he is called out on a tag at first or third base starts for the dugout and progresses a reasonable distance still indicating by his actions that he is out, shall be declared out for abandoning the bases.

Last edited by UmpTTS43; Wed Jul 29, 2009 at 11:18am.
Reply With Quote