View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 04, 2002, 08:39pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
I think this type of play does not called near enough.

I think we have to protect the player who is making a play at the ball. In this case, the player, as you described, has the potential to make a saving play. If his path to the ball is determined and an opposing player makes contact without obtaining legal guarding position and/or establishing his position of verticality, then we have a foul.

I think that too many times contact similar to a hockey "interference" penalty occurs and we do not call a foul.

Mike


Quote:
Originally posted by Troward
A1 attempts a shot that misses and rebounds off the floor inbounds and is heading out of bounds slow and high. A2 on the baseline is close enough to the ball to make a potential saving play. B1 jumps in front of A2 to cut him off from the ball.Both players are moving and there is a slight collision, but A1 is still able to try to side step arround B1 to make a play on the ball. However B2 slides with A2 (like he is boxing him out) preventing him from getting to the ball to try to make a save. I NO called the scenario. Team A coach is all over me for an illegal screen which planted the seed of doubt that there might be something illegal in this play. Any opinions?

[Edited by Troward on Dec 4th, 2002 at 01:53 PM]
Reply With Quote