View Single Post
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 27, 2009, 02:31pm
SAump SAump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Talking Small Technicality

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
As I don't post on any other forum, must be a different Mr. Umpire

Sincerely,

Mrumpire
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
Josh,

Here is a summary of the play, transcribed by our own Mr. Umpire on another forum:
As I don't post on any other forum, must be a different Mr. Umpire

Sincerely,

Mrumpire
SDS is technically correct, which part of his statement do you dispute?
Quote:
"There was no intent by the on deck batter to hit the ball or even get in the way."
5.08 However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out.

JEA - if an overthrow should touch a coach, the umpire should determine if the coach used his best efforts to avoid the overthrow and/or fielder or whether his actions were palpably designed to interfere.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Tue Jul 28, 2009 at 10:16am.