Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283
While looking at the NCAA rules, I saw that it is legal for defensive players to warm up during a defensive conference, as long as they are already in the lineup and in fair territory.
Is this also legal in FED? I had it happen in one game this year. The DC went out for a visit and tossed F6 a ball so he could play catch with F5. I skimmed the FED book the other day and didn't see anything.
|
I believe there is a FED case book, or SITUATION in the annual INTERPS that says a HC can not toss a ball to an infielder to warmup to pitch while he conducts a conference, when his intent is to change pitchers, and he is just killing time to get the reliever a few throws before announcement is made.
Of course Gorilla arm only appears as a SITUATION in the INTERPS (2005, #5) and few know about it or will enforce.