Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichiganBlue
Both NFHS and ASA call a B-R out ...
Is it fair...
|
I have never thought it fair to penalize the batter. The catcher already had a chance to catch it and messed up.
I believe most would call it differently if similar happened on base. (SIT: With R1 on first, the ball is hit sharply to F3. The ball bounces out of F3's glove, bounds approximately 4 feet away and hits R1's foot.)
However, I agree with you that the rules state in the original situations the batter is out. If I'm ever good enough to be invited to be a member of a rules committee, I'll attempt to change it... right after I rename the foul lines to "fair lines".