Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
5. In possession of the ball, but not in the act of making a play on the runner which intentionally impedes[/LEFT]
the progress of that runner, while he is legally running the bases.
Please give an example of a situation where this would apply. I'm having trouble seeing this.
Thanks
|
A couple of examples:
1 - In senior play, the runners must touch a different "scoring" plate that's 8 feet away from the normal HP. If a fielder attempts to tag and blocks the runner while holding the ball, there's nothing in the book that says this act is OBS, despite the fact that the book clearly declares that this is not an out.
2 - Another sitch is where the defensive player is holding the ball and blocks the runner's progress while making no attempt to tag them (basically an USC call, but not OBS by ASA rules).