View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 03, 2002, 05:07pm
Mike Simonds Mike Simonds is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 489
Thumbs up Good call James.

I get asked this question at least once per season.

For the snap to be legal, the ball must immediately leave the hands of the snapper. This is a deadball foul as the ball can only become live by a legal snap or free kick.

As for the eligibility of the snapper, as long as the player has a legal position and a legal number then that player is an eligible receiver. Of course, you might have a different foul for illegal numbering at the snap (need 5 players numbered between 50-79 on their line at the snap; unless the scrimmage kick formation rule exception is in effect) or an illegal position at the snap foul.
__________________
Mike Simonds
Reply With Quote